CE certification of machinery and production lines

Safety is one of the key values that IMI-Polska provides to its customers along with its solutions for machine and production line construction.

What is a CE certification?

According to the current regulations, the manufacturer of the machine is responsible for the CE certification of the machine and for issuing the EC declaration of conformity. This declaration is a statement by the manufacturer that the machine meets the requirements of the “New Approach Directives” (for machines, this is the Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC) and the guidelines that are specified in the so-called harmonised standards.

The CE mark thus ensures that a given machine has undergone the appropriate analyses and meets the safety requirements at every stage of use, from transport through assembly and start-up to scrapping. IMI-Polska issues declarations of conformity for all its machines and production lines.

Modernisation and adaptation of existing machinery

Many machines and pieces of equipment are imported from outside the European Union (imports from China are particularly dangerous here). They are installed in technological lines, which causes a real threat to the health and life of operators. These machines, despite the fact that they are often new, need to be upgraded straight away in order to be approved for use in production.
Machines manufactured before 1 January 2003 can be adapted to the so-called minimum requirements, whereas all those manufactured later must bear the CE mark (basic requirements).

IMI-Polska Sp. z o.o. helps to go through the conformity assessment process by conducting appropriate safety audits. In addition, we can also modify the design and perform the necessary upgrades so that the machines or production lines meet all safety standards.

CE certification of machinery – harmonised standards

Harmonised standards can be divided into three types:

Type A standards

these are the standards that apply to every machine. An example of such a standard is one of the most important standards for risk assessment. (PN-EN ISO 12100:2012 Safety of machinery — General principles for design — Risk assessment and risk reduction).

Type B standards

these are the standards that apply to specific groups of machines, e.g. those equipped with an electric drive. Here are the examples of such standards: EN ISO 13850:2012 Safety of machinery — Emergency stop function — Principles for design, EN 953+A1:2009 Safety of machinery — Guards — General requirements for the design and construction of fixed and movable guards, or EN 349+A1:2010 Safety of machinery – Minimum gaps to avoid crushing of parts of the human body.

Type C standards

these are standards applicable to specific types of machines, e.g. packaging machines, machines for the food or timber industry.

The benefits of working with IMI-Polska



we take care of the entire process, from the design through the execution/modernisation to the start-up



of personnel



of meeting the safety requirements, CE certification of machinery


Contact the appropriate department and receive the terms of cooperation.